The powers and functions given to the Commission come from legislation enacted by Parliament.

In addition to our legislated framework, various codes of conduct and regulations also guide the work of the Independent Commission Against Corruption.

Key legislation

Independent Commission Against Corruption Act 2012
Commenced on 7 October 2021
* The legislation which establishes and governs the Commission significantly changed on 7 October 2021.  An overview of some of the key changes can be found here.
Independent Commissioner Against Corruption Act 2012
The Independent Commissioner Against Corruption Act 2012 came into effect 1 September 2013 and continues to apply to complaints and reports made before 25 August 2021 and investigations commenced before 25 August 2021.
Criminal Law Consolidation Act 1935
Ombudsman Act 1972
Public Sector Act 2009
Public Sector (Honesty and Accountability) Act 1995
Local Government Act 1999
Members of Parliament (Register of Interests) Act 1983
Police Complaints and Discipline Act 2016
Public Corporations Act 1993
Lobbyists Act 2015

Codes and regulations

Codes of conduct and regulations by which public officers are bound are relevant to the Independent Commission Against Corruption Act.

If you are a public officer, please make sure you are familiar with the code or regulation by which you are bound.

Independent Commission Against Corruption Regulations 2013
Police Complaints and Discipline Regulations 2017
Public Interest Disclosure Regulations 2019
Code of Ethics for the South Australian Public Sector
Code of Conduct for Council Members
Code of Conduct for Council Employees
Ministerial Code of Conduct
Protective Security Regulations 2008
Police Regulations 2014

Other regulations

Other regulations that impact upon the discharge of functions by the Commission.